Skip to content

Anti-bullying song stirs emotions, brings tears, inspires hope

Bars and Melody

Last night, after a challenging day, I caught a glimpse of Britain’s Got Talent and saw the Bars and Melody audition: two young boys – one of whom suffered at the whim of “Mr Bully” – with a microphone and a rap, and a powerful message of hope.  Whether you are/have been bullied, or are just having a bad day, their song and its lyrics will either bring a tear to your eye or empower you to take a stand – or, in my case, both!

According to a study involving more than 20,000 people aged from 8 to 14, roughly 1 in 4 students (27%) in Australian schools have reported being bullied. Hurtful teasing and lies are the most common bullying behaviours. In 87% of cases, other students are around when the bullying occurs. They are mostly onlookers who do nothing to help the person being bullied.

When you’re down, it’s hard to see a way up. And when others are down it’s often easier to carry on than get involved. Have you been bullied? Have you seen it happen? Have you been a bully? How has it affected you? Take a look at this brave audition to see how one boy captured his emotions to shed some light on bullying and inspire hope for himself and others…

Bars and Melody – Hopeful lyrics

Please help me God, I feel so alone
I’m just a kid, how can I take it on my own
I’ve cried too many tears yeah writing this song
Trying to fit in, where do I belong?
I wake up every day, don’t want to leave my home
My momma’s askin’ me why I’m always alone
Too scared to say, too scared to holler
I’m walking to school with sweat around my collar
I’m just a kid, I don’t want no stress
My nerves are bad, my life’s a mess
The names you call me, they hurt real bad
I want to tell my Mom
She’s havin’ trouble with my Dad
I feel so trapped there’s nowhere to turn
Just goin’ to school
Don’t wanna fight I wanna learn
So please mister bully
Tell me what I’ve done
You know I have no Dad
I’m livin’ with my Mom

Just be hopeful, yes I am
Hopeful for today
Take this music and use it
Let it take you away
And be hopeful, hopeful
And He’ll make a way
I know it ain’t easy but that’s okay
Just be hopeful

Why do you trip every single thing?
I didn’t ask to be born but now I have to pay
I ain’t got no money, you take all I have
When I give it to you, I search through My bags
I feel so scared when you shout me down
You kick me, punch me, throw me to the ground
When I ask you, yo, what have I done?
You hit me again, and make fun of my Mom!

I’m hopeful, yes I am
Hopeful for today
Take this music and use it
Let it take you away
And be hopeful, hopeful
And He’ll make a way
I know it ain’t easy but that’s okay
Just be hopeful

What I wear is all I have
We lost our home, I’m livin’ from a bag
Yo mister bully, help me please
I’m flesh and blood, accept me please
Hey mister bully, I don’t know what to do
My mind, it can’t explain what I did to you
Mister bully, take in all my pleas
Every single day you bring me to my knees

Hopeful, yes I am
Hopeful for today
Take this music and use it
Let it take you away
And be hopeful, hopeful
And He’ll make a way
I know it ain’t easy but that’s okay
Just be hopeful

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

