Skip to content

How to cook the perfect poached egg

Perfectly cooked poached eggs

Sunday mornings are synonymous with poached eggs. They’re a great source of protein and generally just make you feel all warm inside! But they can be difficult to cook well.

Over the years I’ve tried cooking poached just about every way possible, including the cheats way with an omelette maker! I could never get the perfect poached egg though, it would always end up too rubbery or the whites would be completely disintegrated. A friend’s boyfriend, who happens to be a chef, cooked poached eggs for breakfast when I visited them recently and he shared with me a few tips. Ever since I’ve cooked nothing but perfect poached eggs! So, while I can’t take credit for these words of wisdom, I will share them with you because everyone deserves well-cooked poached eggs on a Sunday morning!

 Tips for perfect poached eggs:

  • Start with really good quality eggs. I use free range Eco Eggs
  • Use a large, deep saucepan filled 3/4 full with water and about 30mL of white vinegar
  • Gas cook tops are the best to use because you can control the heat more so than with electric stove cook tops
  • Bring the water and vinegar to the boil then reduce heat to a low simmer and crack the eggs into the pot (try to do as soon as you’ve lowered the heat from the boil to get a nice tail forming with the egg whites)
  • Cook for 3 minutes then carefully scoop out with a slotted spoon
  • I find poached eggs taste best on toasted Turkish bread, spread with lashings of butter because the bread holds its thickness and soaks up the butter well, so the texture of the eggs by comparison is extra light and smooth
  • Add salt and pepper to taste and you’ve got a mouth-watering meal to start your day!

Now, if anyone can share with me some tips for making hollandaise sauce we’ll all be happy! You should have seen my failed attempt this morning, it really was shameful!

Let me know if you found these tips for poached eggs helpful 🙂

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. starscraper99 #

    Looks delicious!

    Like

    May 13, 2012
  2. I usually do may using a stick blender – I follow this recipe from you tube and its always successful. The recipe is for mayo, but in principle it should work just as well when using hot melted butter.

    Alternatively, you can use an ordinary blender – here is the recipe (unlike the visual from the following video showing the hot butter being dumped into the blender) I would add it very very slowly.

    http://www.5min.com/Video/How-to-make-Hollandaise-Sauce-5072375

    Like

    May 13, 2012
    • Wow! They make it look so easy! I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet and invest in a stick blender 🙂
      Thank you for the video. I’ll have to try making hallandaise sauce again next Sunday and let you know how it went.

      Like

      May 13, 2012
  3. Thanks for your quick reply. I bought a Phillips stick blender – and I use it all the time, instead of my rather cumbersome food processor. I cannot Imagine my kitchen without it. Honestly, probably the best investment I made for the kitchen in recent years. This particular model is fantastic, because of the powerful 700b watt motor and the handy attachments.

    http://www.philips.co.za/c/juicers-and-blenders/pure-essentials-collection-700-w-metal-bar-xl-chopper-1-accessory-hr1371_90/prd/

    Like

    May 14, 2012
    • I think that’s where I came unstuck before… I used a food processor for a small quantity of the hallandaise sauce. Thanks for the suggested stick blender model!

      Like

      May 14, 2012
  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Your blog is lovely 🙂

    Like

    May 22, 2012
  5. Heston Blumenthal and Jamie Oliver both have videos showing their methods for cooking the so-called “perfect poached egg”. Jamie is more down-to-earth and Heston more scientific. I love both their styles although it’s helpful to understand both methods.

    The upshot of it is that the fresher the eggs, the better!

    And I do love eggs and “eggs benedict has to be my favourite “eating out” breakfast 🙂 Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/eggs/

    Like

    May 25, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. No sugar challenge week 8: end results and outcomes | Inspired Mood

Leave a Reply

