Skip to content

Week 1 No-Sugar Challenge: what was easy and hard

Week one of my 8-week no sugar challenge has been a success. How did I do it and how did I go? For a self-confessed ‘sweet-tooth’ I think I did remarkably well. Below is a table of my meal plan (note: I didn’t plan much as you can see by the repetition of some meals). So, after one week without sugar what outcomes have I achieved, what did I find easy, what did I find easy difficult and how will I go moving forward to week 2? Well….

What did I achieve?

  • I feel leaner: you know that bloated, fluid-like feeling you get? Maybe it’s just me… but I didn’t feel that way at all this week
  • My abs are already showing: I exercise daily, but by cutting sugar I think even that incredibly-hard-to-shift-around-the-lower-abdomen part of me has begun to take the hint!
  • I ate tasty food: it’s amazing how good fresh, home-cooked food can taste!
Quinoa_salmon

Quinoa and salmon salad

What was easy?

  • Finding alternatives: I used to add a teaspoon of honey to my oats every morning. Prior to this challenge, someone told me it’s not OK to eat honey ‘because it’s natural’ (I’m definitely still an ‘everything-in-moderation’ kind of girl, but it depends how far you want to take the whole ‘clean eating’ thing) so I replaced the honey with blackberries, which are incredibly sweet! For my morning snack I used to eat nut bars, thinking they were the best of a bad bunch on the supermarket shelf. But they still contain sugar and several other ingredients of which I have no idea what they are, so I swapped them for raw nuts. After making switches like this you begin to really appreciate how sweet foods in their natural form really are.
  • Eating: I honestly felt I was dining like a queen all week!
Oats_berries

Oats with berries, cinnamon and pecans

What was hard?

  • Thinking about what to eat: it’s easy to find yourself eating the same thing for lunch you had yesterday, because it’s easy and you know it was safe and tasty.
  • Eating out: I ate out twice for lunch this week and knew it would be difficult trying to judge the menus. The way I attacked it was to look for something that listed all the ingredients (e.g. Chicken and mushroom pie versus smoked salmon with steamed vegetables – you’re more likely to know what you’re getting with the salmon compared to the pie).

What did I learn?

  • Plan meals: think about what you’re going to eat for the week, even if it’s a rough idea, so you don’t have to keep going back to the shops for supplies.
  • Eat smaller meals: protein fills you up and my three main meals have been fairly large portions
  • Eat more meals: i.e. snack more for sustained energy
  • Read: there are plenty of great blogs out there to support you in this lifestyle choice and give you great recipe ideas.
Chicken_pesto_vegies

Chicken with baked sweet potato, steamed broccoli, carrot and green beans and a basil pesto dressing

What I ate for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Poached eggs with pastrami and spinach Poached eggs with pastrami and spinach +1 cup Girlie Grey tea Scrambled eggs with grilled tomato and zucchini + 1 cup French Earl Grey tea Oats with rice milk, cinnamon, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries and pecans + 1 cup French Earl Grey tea (more porridge toppers here) Oats with rice milk, cinnamon, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries and pecans + 1 cup blackcurrant tea. Scrambled eggs with bacon and grilled tomatoes Scrambled eggs with bacon, grilled tomato and mushroom
Soy latte with small handful of almonds Soy latte with small handful of almonds and 1 banana Soy latte Soy latte with small handful of almonds Soy latte with handful of hazelnuts Soy latte and two protein balls
Smoked salmon with steamed broccoli, carrots, green beans + dressing (½ tsp olive oil, ½ tsp Dijon mustard, 1.5 tsp soy sauce) Tuna (tinned), baby spinach, tomato, cucumber, red onion and cheese on Helga’s thin bread Chicken with baby spinach, red onion, cherry tomatoes, avocado, green grapes and cucumber salad +1 soy latte* Quinoa, smoked salmon, baby spinach, green capsicum salad + dressing (1tsp olive oil, 1 tsp lemon juice, 2 tsp balsamic vinegar Blue cheese, cashew, apple, mescalin lettuce, cherry tomato, red onion and cucumber salad with red wine vinaigrette* Quinoa, tuna (tinned), baby spinach, green capsicum, cucumber and tomato salad with balsamic vinegar Quinoa, tuna (tinned), baby spinach, green capsicum, cucumber and tomato salad with balsamic vinegar
200gm Jalna Premium vanilla yoghurt with strawberries and passionfruit Small handful pistachios 200gm Jalna Premium vanilla yoghurt + 1 plum 100gm Jalna Premium vanilla yoghurt with rockmelon, honeydew melon and passionfruit
Leftover Thai green chicken curry with broccoli, green capsicum, green beans, buk choy and white rice Crumbed cutlets (2) with baked sweet potato and grilled eggplant and zucchini Pork chop (1) with baby spinach, mung beans, red onion, cherry tomato, cucumber, beetroot and feta salad Thai green curry with steak, broccoli, zucchini, eggplant, buk choy, green beans, sweet potato and brown rice Leftovers from night before Chicken with sweet potato, broccoli, carrot, green beans and a basil pesto dressing Roast beef with sweet potato, broccoli, carrot and spicy red pepper coconut sauce
Rockmelon and honeydew melon Rockmelon & honeydew melon Frozen mango, raspberries and lime 50gm Jalna Premium vanilla yoghurt, rockmelon, watermelon and passionfruit

Related posts

8-week no sugar challenge: Day 1

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dannielle #

    Well done Kate! I know it’s not easy! You latest a week, which is 7 days longer than I have been able too 🙂
    Keep up the blogging! Such a lovely way to spend my free time!

    Like

    January 13, 2013
    • Thanks Dänni! Only 7 weeks to go… and they say it gets easier! Glad you’re liking my blog 🙂

      Like

      January 13, 2013
  2. I’ve just started the I quit sugar diet so I’m glad I found your blogs. I love the ideas in this meal plan. 3 days in for me so a long way to go still!

    Like

    January 2, 2014
    • Congratulations Lauren! Three days, especially at the start, is no mean feat. I hope my blog and these meal plans can help encourage you and inspire sugar-free meal ideas 🙂

      Like

      January 2, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day one, day one … | Why Blog Now?

Leave a Reply

