Skip to content

Quick and easy one-pan Italian-style tuna and vegetables

Italian style tuna and vegetables

You’ve just come home from work and have a million things on your mind. The house is a mess, you have a ‘to-do’ list that’s growing as fast as that pile of washing, and you can’t even begin to think about what to cook for dinner because you’re either a) far too stressed and have lost your appetite anyway, or b) are famished and would seriously consider eating the stale crackers from last weekend’s party. Sound familiar? Then do I have a great mid-weak meal idea for you!

You see, today, I was having one of those days. Nothing was going right at work; I forgot all the errands I had to run during my lunch break to get our new house project off and running; and when I came home to even more tasks sprawled out on my office floor I was ready about ready to zone out. Forget dinner; I’m doing yoga in the garden and then painting my nails!

Well, I got to the yard, and then played with the dogs (great stress buster). Then Mr I.M came home and my appetite returned, but my inspiration to cook did not. So I took one look in the fridge and this is what transpired: Italian-style tuna and vegetables (note: I cannot be quoted on how authentic this dish is – it’s simply what I choose to call it)!

It’s packed with omega-3 (which studies show may improve your mood and reduce stress – bonus!), folate and vitamins A, C and K. And the best part about this simple dish is it’s quick, easy and you only need a frypan (unless you choose to have pasta with yours, which is what I dished up to Mr I.M – then you’ll need a saucepan to cook your pasta in).

Italian style tuna and vegetables

Italian style tuna and vegetables

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil, extra as required
  • ½ an onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 250gm tuna (I used tinned in spring water)
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • Handful of green beans, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • ½ small red chili
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Handful of baby spinach leaves, rinsed
  • ¼ cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • Oregano, a few sprigs
  • Basil, a few sprigs
  • Fettuccine, cooked to instructions (optional)

Method:

  1. Cook pasta (if you can be bothered).
  2. Heat about 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a fry pan. Add onion and garlic and turn heat down to low; cook until the onion is translucent (about 30 seconds).
  3. Add tuna and warm through.
  4. Add tomato, zucchini and beans and cook until vegetables soften (about 5 – 7 minutes). Add chili  salt and pepper and stir through. If things are looking a little dry, drizzle with olive oil. Add baby spinach and stir until just wilted.
  5. Serve on a plate (or on top of a bowl of fettuccine) and top with Parmesan, and fresh basil and oregano.

Serves 2.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

